A Cover Reveal and Preview of Bloomsbury Girls, by Natalie Jenner

Bloomsbury Girls Cover Reveal

Hello dear readers,

I have the great pleasure to share a first look at the next historical fiction novel from Natalie Jenner, author of the international bestseller The Jane Austen Society. I’m a huge fan of Natalie Jenner and, as you know, of All Things Jane Austen, and I’m excited to share everything I know about the book and reveal its stunning cover!

I loved Natalie’s first novel and adored the audiobook narrated by Richard Armitage. You can read my review, “7 Truths Universally Acknowledged: Why Jane Austen Would Love the Novel ‘The Jane Austen Society‘” at Frolic Magazine.

Recently, Natalie and I had a great time chatting about books and writing to celebrate the paperback release of The Jane Austen Society. Check out the video here.

Bloomsbury Girls is due out May 17, 2022, and sounds equally as enthralling. Here’s a description of the book … and then the big cover reveal.

 

BLOOMSBURY GIRLS: BOOK DESCRIPTION

 “One bookshop. Fifty-one rules. Three women who break them all.”

Bloomsbury Books is an old-fashioned new and rare bookstore that has persisted and resisted change for a hundred years, run by men and guided by the general manager’s unbreakable fifty-one rules. But in 1950, the world is changing, especially the world of books and publishing, and at Bloomsbury Books, the girls in the shop have plans:

Vivien Lowry:  Single since her aristocratic fiancé was killed in action during World War II, the brilliant and stylish Vivien has a long list of grievances – most of them well justified and the biggest of which is Alec McDonough, the Head of Fiction.

Grace Perkins: Married with two sons, she’s been working to support the family following her husband’s breakdown in the aftermath of the war. Torn between duty to her family and dreams of her own.

Evie Stone: In the first class of female students from Cambridge permitted to earn a degree, Evie was denied an academic position in favor of her less accomplished male rival. Now she’s working at Bloomsbury Books while she plans to remake her own future.

As they interact with various literary figures of the time – Daphne Du Maurier, Ellen Doubleday, Sonia Blair (widow of George Orwell), Samuel Beckett, Peggy Guggenheim, and others – these three women with their complex web of relationships, goals and dreams are all working to plot out a future that is richer and more rewarding than anything society will allow.

 

NOW WITHOUT FURTHER ADO, HERE IS THE BEAUTIFUL BOOK COVER:

 

Bloomsbury Girls by Natalie Jenner cover

 

“If The Jane Austen Society was the book I wrote when I was coming out of sadness, Bloomsbury Girls was written when I was very happy, and I hope it provides a little cheer to readers during this difficult time.”

Natalie Jenner

 

PURCHASE LINKS:

Bloomsbury Girls will be on sale May 17, 2022, but you can pre-order it now!

 AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | INDIEBOUND | KOBO | GOOGLE PLAY | GOODREADS

 

The Jane Austen Society book coverFor those of you who may be new to Natalie Jenner’s work, here’s praise for her debut novel, The Jane Austen Society:

“Sweet, smart escapism.”  People Magazine

“Anyone seeking an antidote to contemporary chaos will find a welcome respite.” The Washington Post

“Fans of Pride and Prejudice will rejoice … Delightful!” Woman’s World Magazine

 

Natalie Jenner author photo

 

AUTHOR BIO

Natalie Jenner is the author of two books, the instant international bestseller THE JANE AUSTEN SOCIETY and BLOOMSBURY GIRLS. A Goodreads Choice Award finalist for best debut novel and historical fiction, THE JANE AUSTEN SOCIETY was a USA Today and #1 national bestseller and has been sold for translation in twenty countries. Born in England and raised in Canada, Natalie has been a corporate lawyer, a career coach and, most recently, an independent bookstore owner in Oakville, Ontario, where she lives with her family and two rescue dogs.

 

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS

 

RELATED VIEWING: MY AUTHOR CHAT WITH NATALIE JENNER

Authors’ Chat with Natalie Jenner and Syrie James on The Jane Austen Society

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR JOINING ME TODAY!

If you’ve read The Jane Austen Society (or listened to the awesome audiobook), please leave a comment below–I’d love to hear your thoughts. And please share what excites you about Bloomsbury Girls!

 

 

 

 

Related

Victorian ladies fall and winter cloaks 1890s

Victorian Capes and Cloaks: A Dramatic Fashion Statement

  When I was writing my novel Dracula, My Love, I came to a crossroads and knew I was in trouble. In the book, my heroine Mina Harker falls madly…

A Perfect Pairing for your Summer Reading: Enter a Victorian Gothic Giveaway

Victorian Gothic Giveaway! Amazon Gift Card + Dracula, My Love + John Eyre

Hello dear readers! I’m so excited to introduce you to bestselling historical romance novelist Mimi Matthews, whose Gothic suspense novel, John Eyre, releases today. Mimi’s new novel caught my eye…

John Eyre: A Tale of Darkness and Shadow, by Mimi Matthews—A Review

From the desk of Syrie James When I heard that John Eyre was a gender-swapping version of Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre mashed up with elements from Bram Stoker’s Dracula—two of…

Authors’ Chat with Natalie Jenner and Syrie James on The Jane Austen Society

  Hello dear readers! I’m delighted to share this video interview between me and the fabulously talented author Natalie Jenner in honor of the paperback release of her wonderful novel,…

4 Comments

  1. Natalie Jenner on August 30, 2021 at 10:19 am

    Syrie!! This was so great to read & see here on your own author blog – so generous and gracious of you, although I am not surprised. Your support of this newbie author has been remarkable. I am thrilled you like the cover and honestly cannot wait until I can send you an early advance copy. Thank you so much for everything!

    • Syrie James on August 31, 2021 at 12:17 am

      It was a thrill to share the news about your new book and gorgeous cover. I am such a fan of you and your work. I can’t wait to read this novel!

  2. Laura W Hartness on August 30, 2021 at 8:25 pm

    I really enjoyed The Jane Austen Society, and the audiobook indeed was wonderful! Richard Armitage’s voice is SO dreamy! I hope they bring him back for the sequel. I’m really looking forward to reading/listening to this one!

    • Syrie James on August 31, 2021 at 12:20 am

      It would be fun if Richard Armitage narrates the audiobook for this novel. But, since it sounds like the three leads are women … I’m thinking it should be narrated by a woman. There are so many wonderful female narrators out there who could totally knock it out of the park. I’m excited to see who they choose!

Leave a Comment