DRACULA, MY LOVE: THE SECRET JOURNALS OF MINA HARKER

In this page-turning tale of adventure and forbidden love, Mina Harker is torn between her devotion to her fiancé and her secret, scandalous passion for the powerful and charismatic vampire he is hunting: Count Dracula.

Who is this fascinating man? And how could one woman fall so completely under his spell?

Struggling to hang onto the deep, pure love she has found within her marriage to her husband, Jonathan, Mina Harker is inexorably drawn into a secret, passionate affair with a dangerous lover, Count Dracula. This gorgeous, haunted, and haunting creature has awakened feelings and desires within her that she has never before known, which remake her as a woman.

Although everyone she knows fears Count Dracula and is pledged to destroy him, Mina sees a side to him that the others cannot: a tender, romantic side; a man who's taken full advantage of his gift of immortality to expand his mind and talents; a man who is deeply in love, and who may not be evil after all. Soon, they are connected in a way she never thought humanly possible.

Yet to surrender is surely madness, for to be with him could cost Mina her life ....

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | INDIEBOUND | BOOKS-A-MILLION | AUDIBLE |
Add on Goodreads

 

PRAISE

“The rest of the world might think they know everything about the Count from Transylvania, but only Mina Harker, who once fell under the seductive spell of literature's most famous vampire, knows Dracula's true story. James gives readers an intriguing alternate theory as to the events that occurred in Stoker's classic horror tale while at the same time delivering a spooky yet thoroughly romantic love story.”
—Chicago Tribune

“Syrie James weaves a tale of quite a different Dracula: a mouth-wateringly handsome, powerful, cultured and passionate one. But, alas, Mina is the only one who sees this side of him. To the rest of the world and, more importantly, her beloved husband, he is a vicious killer who must be stopped at all cost. This is a gripping story, infused with passion, excitement, and emotional turmoil. It sheds a whole new light on Count Dracula. I loved it! This vampire can bite my neck any time!”
—American Book Center

“Reads like a tense filmscript begging to be translated to the screen.”
—The Compulsive Reader

“Fans of Anne Rice and Stephenie Meyer will find much to rejoice about in this novel. However, in my opinion, James is a better writer than either. It’s a perfect read. 5 stars.”
—Much Madness is Divinest Sense

“A rich revisiting of the Dracula story. Mina’s secret journal introduces an abundance of loopholes, alternate plot paths, and reinterpretations of the original characters. Justine Eyre proves a strong narrator, switching fluently into other accented voices, and is particularly adept at vocalizing Mina’s inner turmoil.”
—Publishers Weekly Audio Book Review

Read more Reviews

Read the Excerpt

Download the Readers' Guide

International Editions

Published by: Harper Collins
Pages: 457
ISBN13: 978-0061923036