“The queen of nineteenth century re-imaginings.”

—Los Angeles Magazine

About Syrie

Syrie: pronounced like the App, but spelled better. 

SYRIE JAMES is the author of thirteen critically acclaimed novels of historical fiction, romance, and young adult fiction that have been international and USA Today bestsellers and won numerous awards. Her books have been published in more than twenty languages. Syrie is also a screenwriter and playwright and is committed to taking her characters on challenging journeys of growth and discovery.

 

Praise for Syrie's Work

The Missing Manuscript
of Jane Austen

“This richly imagined Jane Austen ‘road novel’ is such a page turner.
A standout!”

—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Nocturne

“The kind of book that makes you want to turn off the phone and television so you can do nothing but read."

—Barnes & Noble Romantic Read of the Week

The Secret Diaries of
Charlotte Brontë

“Syrie’s story of Charlotte offers it all: longing and yearning, struggle and success, the searing pain of immeasurable loss, and the happiness of a love that came unbidden and unsought. I did not want this story to end.”

—Jane Austen's World

The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen

“A love affair equal to anything Jane Austen wrote.”

—News Review

Runaway Heiress

“Fans of Downton Abbey and Jane Austen will be enchanted!"

—Austenprose

 

Dracula, My Love

“A gripping story, infused with passion, excitement, and emotional turmoil. This vampire can bite my neck any time!”

—American Book Center

About the Jane Austen Novels

Syrie James brings Jane Austen to life as never before in three page-turning works of historical fiction, recounting Jane’s unforgettable romance as a teenager (Jane Austen’s First Love) and her life-changing love story as a more mature woman (The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen). In The Missing Manuscript of Jane Austen, Syrie offers the ultimate Janeite fantasy: the discovery of a long lost Jane Austen novel.

 

 

 

 

 

"A spooky yet thoroughly entertaining love story."

Chicago Tribune on Dracula My Love

"Lyrical, lush, and intensely romantic, NOCTURNE will weave its way into readers' hearts, with its complex characters and compelling emotions sure to linger long after the last page has been turned."

Library Journal

Latest Blog Post

Bloomsbury Girls Cover Reveal

A Cover Reveal and Preview of Bloomsbury Girls, by Natalie Jenner

Hello dear readers, I have the great pleasure to share a first look at the next historical fiction novel from Natalie Jenner, author of the international bestseller The Jane Austen Society. I’m a huge fan of Natalie Jenner and, as you know, of All Things…

Read More